That's Racin Magazine

Qualifying, heats set fields for racing at The Dirt Track at Charlotte

Observer News Services
Thursday, Nov. 07, 2013

Jason Meyers and Billy Moyer had the fastest times during qualifying for Friday’s World of Outlaws World Finals races, and Paul McMahan topped the speed charts for Saturday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

The event brings together dirt racing’s three premier divisions, the World of Outlaws’ Sprint Car and Late Model series and the Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds for action that crowns their respective champions.

Meyers led the 55-car field during Thursday’s first World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series session with a lap of 12.912 seconds. The first session set the field for Friday’s racing. Donny Schatz had the second-fastest time, followed by Paul McMahan, Brian Brown and Jac Haudenschild.

In the second Sprint Car Series time trial session, setting the field for Saturday, McMahan had the fast time of 13.410 seconds. Schatz was second, followed by Ryan Smith, Sammy Swindell and Randy Hannagan.

Moyer led the 74-car field in the first Late Model Series session with a 15.413-second lap. The session set the field for Friday. Darrell Lanigan was the second-fastest, followed by Rick Eckert, Scott Bloomquist and Josh Richards.

The first round of Big-Block Modified heat races set the field for Friday’s A-Feature as Dale Planck, Brett Hearn, Stewart Friesen, Ryan Godown and Gary Tomkins each scored a win. In the second round of heat races, which set the field for Saturday’s A-Feature, Ryan Godown, Dale Planck, Brett Hearn, Stewart Friesen and Tim McCreadie each won.

Full racing programs are on tap for all three divisions Friday and Saturday. Gates will open at 3 p.m. each day with opening ceremonies at 4:45.