That's Racin Magazine

Ryan Newman wins pole with record lap

Saturday, Jul. 27, 2013

Ryan Newman was last and best on Saturday.

Newman won the pole for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 after posting a track record lap at 187.531 mph as the last of 45 cars to qualify.

The previous record of 186.293 mph was set by Casey Mears in 2004. Sprint Cup Series points leader Jimmie Johnson was second fastest, Carl Edwards was third, Denny Hamlin was fourth and Tony Stewart was fifth.

"I guess I did my homework but the guys on this team did their homework, too. It’s a good day for Stewart-Haas Racing," said Newman, who earned his first pole since September 2011, but the 50th of his career.

"It was special because it was the Brickyard and I’ve won a lot of poles but never won one, here."

Newman is in the final year of his contract with SHR and doesn't have a full-time ride lined up for next season.