Coke Zero 400

Thursday, Jul. 04, 2013

What: 160 laps or 400 miles

Where: Daytona International Speedway, a 2.5-mile highly banked, paved tri-oval located in Daytona Beach, Fla.

When: 7:30 p.m. ET Saturday


Radio: Motor Racing Network

Last year’s winner: Tony Stewart

Also this week: Subway 250, Nationwide Series, Daytona International Speedway, 7:30 p.m. Friday, ESPN.

Worth mentioning: Turner Sports has altered its “Wide Open” coverage of the July Daytona race this season which it introduced in 2007. For this year’s Coke Zero 400 at Daytona, TNT will present the final 30 laps without commercial interruption. In the past, TNT has used a split-screen with commercials throughout the race.

Who’s Hot/Who’s Not


Matt Kenseth: It’s been seven years since Kenseth last won this many races. I suspect there are still more to come.

Joey Logano: He’s entered the Top 10 in points for just the second time this season.

Jamie McMurray: Coming on strong. Is it too late to make the Chase?

Jeremy Bullins: Penske Racing Nationwide crew chief has three wins with three different drivers this season.

Matt Crafton: Stellar Nationwide Series debut with Richard Childress Racing.

Ty Dillion: Put the famous No. 3 back in Victory Lane.


Regan Smith: He’s lost all but eight points of his 58-point lead in the Nationwide Series in the past two races.

Brad Keselowski: Had one of the fastest cars at Kentucky and never had a chance to show it thanks to Kurt Busch.

Jimmie Johnson: Very frustrating when dominant runs don’t turn into victories.

Jim Utter