That's Racin Magazine
Top Stories

Matt Kenseth wins 1st-quarter Driver of the Year award

Wednesday, May. 22, 2013

Matt Kenseth’s first season with Joe Gibbs Racing keeps getting better.

On Wednesday, Kenseth was named the first-quarter winner of the 2013 Driver of the Year award.

A panel of 18 U.S. journalists and broadcasters selected Kenseth as the first-quarter winner.

He earned 110 points to 55 for IndyCar Series driver James Hinchcliffe.

Fifteen drivers earned points in the first-quarter voting.

Kenseth, the 2003 Sprint Cup Series champion, has won three times this season, at Las Vegas, Kansas and Darlington.

A walk and a concert: Coca-Cola will begin 600 race weekend Friday at Charlotte Motor Speedway with the Coca-Cola Family Track Walk with NASCAR drivers Tony Stewart, Denny Hamlin and Darrell Wallace, Jr.

Immediately following the walk is the iHeartRadio “Open For Summer” concert featuring Trace Adkins and Josh Thompson.

Both events are free to fans with tickets to the 600 and will be held near Turn 1. Gates will open at 2 p.m.

Annett cleared to race: After being sidelined for eight races, Michael Annett will return to the driver’s seat of Richard Petty Motorsports’ No. 43 Ford this weekend to run in Saturday’s History 300 Nationwide race.

Annett suffered a broken and dislocated sternum after an accident in the season-opening Nationwide Series race at Daytona International Speedway in February.

Wallace set to return: Steve Wallace will attempt his first Nationwide Series start of the year this weekend. He will drive a former Roush-Fenway Racing Ford in the event, powered by Roush Yates Engines.

Wallace’s No. 66 Ford was prepared out of Rusty Wallace Racing. Pit road duties will be handled by Michael Waltrip Racing’s No. 55 Cup series team.

Roush Fenway to host fan day: Roush Fenway Racing will host its annual Spring Fan Day on Thursday at its headquarters in Concord.

Fans can take part in interactive social media activities, including scavenger hunts to win RFR prizes.

Autograph sessions with RFR drivers begin at 10 a.m.