NASCAR Hall of Famers: The complete list

Friday, Feb. 08, 2013

The 20 men who have been enshrined at the NASCAR Hall of Fame:

Class of 2010

Dale Earnhardt: Won 76 Cup races and seven Cup championships, tied for most all-time with Richard Petty. … Known as “The Intimidator” for his driving style. … Son of NASCAR pioneer Ralph Earnhardt, father of driver Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Bill France Jr.: Son of NASCAR founder “Big Bill” France Sr. … Became NASCAR vice president in 1966, president in 1972. … Secured sponsorship from Winston and R.J. Reynolds Tobacco in 1972, starting the sport’s boom.

Bill France Sr.: Moved family to Daytona Beach, Fla., in 1935 and began promoting races on the storied Beach Course. … Began the formation of NASCAR in 1947. … Protected NASCAR’s interests with an iron will.

Junior Johnson: Ascended from moonshine hauler during the 1950s to NASCAR’s pinnacle, winning the Daytona 500 in 1960. … Had 50 victories as a driver (1953-66), 140 wins and six Cup championships as a team owner (1966-95).

Richard Petty: Sport’s all-time victory leader with 200 in 1,185 starts. … Won seven Cup championships, tied for most with Dale Earnhardt. … One of the most recognizable figures in American sports.

Class of 2011

Bobby Allison: Had 85 wins on NASCAR’s top circuit and a Cup championship in 1983. … Won the Daytona 500 in 1978 while driving a Ford for fellow Hall of Fame inductee Bud Moore. … Oldest winner of Daytona 500, in 1988 at age 50.

Ned Jarrett: Retired in 1966 with 50 victories in 352 races. … Won the 1965 Southern 500 at Darlington by 14 laps, still the largest margin of victory in NASCAR history. … Later became a radio/television analyst and expert commentator.

Bud Moore: Fielded winning car in inaugural Southern 500 at Darlington (S.C.) Raceway in 1950. … Crew chief for Buck Baker’s 1957 championship in NASCAR’s top series. … Won the 1962 and ’63 titles with Joe Weatherly as driver.

David Pearson: Won 105 races and 113 poles. … Won titles in NASCAR’s top series in 1966, ’68 and ’69. … First came with Hall of Fame team owner Cotton Owens, the others with Charlotte-based Holman-Moody.

Lee Petty: Grand National championships in 1954, ’58 and ’59. … Won inaugural Daytona 500, in 1959. … Fielded most of the cars that son and inaugural Hall of Fame Inductee Richard Petty drove to 200 victories and seven championships.

Class of 2012

Richie Evans: Competed in an estimated 1,300 modified races and won about 475 during a career that spanned from 1973 until his death in 1985. … The recognized king of Modified racing, Evans captured nine NASCAR Modified titles.

Dale Inman: Crew chief for legendary driver and inaugural Hall of Fame inductee Richard Petty for nearly three decades. … Set records for wins (193) and championships (eight) by a crew chief – seven with Petty and one with Terry Labonte.

Darrell Waltrip: Three-time Cup series champion (1981, ’82, ’85), Waltrip won all three with inaugural Hall of Fame inductee Junior Johnson. … Tied with Bobby Allison for fourth all-time in series victories with 84. … Now a TV analyst.

Glen Wood: Co-owner of Wood Brothers Racing, active since 1950 and winner of 98 races. … Team, which dates to 1950, remains active. … Roster of drivers includes Hall of Famers David Pearson, Junior Johnson and Cale Yarborough.

Cale Yarborough: Had 83 Cup victories during his career, sixth all-time. … His 69 poles rank fourth all-time. … Won the Daytona 500 four times (1968, ’77, ’83, ’84). … First driver to win three consecutive series championships (1976-78).

Class of 2013

Buck Baker: Started NASCAR’s first race in 1949 in Charlotte, finishing 11th. … Won 46 times in NASCAR’s top division. … Captured series championships in 1956 and ’57, the first driver to claim back-to-back titles.

Cotton Owens: Won NASCAR’s “beach race” in Daytona in 1957. … As an owner, fielded cars for 25 men, including Hall of Famers Junior Johnson and David Pearson, who won a championship in 1966 driving for Owens.

Herb Thomas: Started NASCAR’s first race. … Has 48 career victories, 12th-most all time in NASCAR’s top division. … Drove No. 92, the “Fabulous Hudson Hornet.” … Won series titles in 1951 and ’53.

Rusty Wallace: Won 55 races in his career, eighth-most in history, and was the Cup Series champion in 1989. … Won a Cup race in 16 consecutive seasons, tied with Ricky Rudd for the second-longest streak in history.

Leonard Wood: Pit stop innovator who, along with Hall of Fame brother Glen, fielded cars for 25 drivers, including Hall of Famers David Pearson, Junior Johnson and Cale Yarborough. … Wood Brothers have 98 Cup series victories.

More racing news, blogs, photos and more at