NASCAR Hall to enshrine five fast masters

Sunday, May. 22, 2011

If the inaugural group in the NASCAR Hall Fame appeared more of a “founder’s class,” this year’s five inductees could be described as figures who helped build stock car racing – both on the track and off.

The five – Ned Jarrett, Bud Moore, Bobby Allison, David Pearson and the late Lee Petty – represent some of the best driving as well as some of the brightest minds in establishing many of NASCAR's most successful organizations.

All will be inducted during a ceremony Monday night at the Hall (8 p.m., Speed). Jarrett, Moore, Allison and Pearson will be on hand. Petty died in 2000 at the age of 86.

“It’s a great class,” said Brian France, the NASCAR chairman. “We’re looking forward to a really fun and deserving night.”

The five members of this year’s class cut wide swaths through stock car racing history:

Lee Petty became NASCAR's first three-time series champion, winning titles in 1954, '58 and '59. He also was the winner of the first Daytona 500 in 1959.

Petty's 54 victories in what is now known as the Sprint Cup Series rank him ninth on the all-time list.

He also founded Petty Enterprises and as an owner recorded more than 2,000 starts and 268 victories.

Bud Moore, a decorated World War II infantryman, found success as a car owner almost from his start in 1961. He won back-to-back championships in 1962 and '63 with Joe Weatherly. Before then, Moore – who called himself “a country mechanic” – had been crew chief for champion Buck Baker.

David Pearson is a three-time NASCAR champion who won at the Cup level 105 times, ranking him second all time. He won his titles in 1966, '68 and '69.

He also won the sport’s biggest event, the Daytona 500, in 1976 following a legendary battle with Richard Petty.

Bobby Allison, winner of the 1983 championship, ended his career with 84 Cup victories, tied for third all time. In 1972, he won 10 races, had 12 second-place finishes and ended the season second in the standings to Richard Petty.

Allison also won NASCAR Modified Special Division championships in 1962 and '63 and went on to win the Modified Division the following two years.

Ned Jarrett is a two-time NASCAR champion (1961 and '65) and two-time Sportsman Division champion (1957 and '58). Through his career he totaled 50 Cup victories. After retiring in 1966 from driving, Jarrett excelled as a broadcaster.

This year marks the final time the induction ceremony will take place during May's race weeks in Charlotte. The ceremony moves to January next year for the induction of the Class of 2012.

More racing news, blogs, photos and more at