5 new names join list up for Hall induction


Tuesday, Apr. 19, 2011

Five people join a group of 20 previous nominees who will be considered for the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame class.

The first-time nominees are H. Clay Earles, Bobby Isaac, Cotton Owens, Les Richter and Leonard Wood.

This round of nominees, which again will include many of the sport's legendary names, were selected by a 21-person nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks. The third induction class will be enshrined during January 2012. No date has been announced for revealing the five new members.

Earles was founder of Martinsville (Va.) Speedway; Isaac won the 1970 title in what is now the Sprint Cup Series; Owens was a successful driver-owner and won the 1966 owner championship with David Pearson; Ritcher is a former NASCAR executive and former president of Riverside (Calif.) International Raceway; and Wood is part-owner and former crew chief for the Wood Brothers team.

The 2012 class will be determined by the 54-member voting panel - the nominating committee, media members, manufacturer representatives, retired drivers, owners, crew chiefs and industry leaders.

The fan vote will result in the 55th and final ballot. Fan voting on will begin April 28 and end June 12.

Previous nominees also being considered are Buck Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Jerry Cook, Richie Evans, Tim Flock, Rick Hendrick, Jack Ingram, Dale Inman, Fred Lorenzen, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Fireball Roberts, T. Wayne Robertson, Herb Thomas, Curtis Turner, Darrell Waltrip, Joe Weatherly, Glen Wood and Cale Yarborough.

Burton, sponsor re-sign

Richard Childress Racing announced Tuesday it had reached an agreement on a contract extension with driver Jeff Burton and the sponsor of his No.31 Chevrolet team. Terms of the deals were not disclosed.

Burton qualified for the 2010 Chase for the Sprint Cup and won one of this season's 150-mile qualifying races at Daytona International Speedway. In 591 Cup starts, Burton, 43, has 21 wins, 128 top-five and 237 top-10 finishes. He also has won six poles.

More racing news, blogs, photos and more at