That's Racin Magazine
NASCAR Hall of Fame

Five newcomers added to nominees

Thursday, Jul. 01, 2010

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. Now, itís the votersí turn again.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame nominating committee on Thursday night released the list of the 25 people who will be considered for the five-member induction 2011 class.

Twenty of the 25 were among the 25 nominated last season, when Dale Earnhardt, Richard Petty, Junior Johnson, Bill France and Bill France Jr. made up the inaugural class.

The five new nominees this year are Jerry Cook, Jack Ingram, Dale Inman, Fred Lorenzen and T. Wayne Robertson.

Cook is a six-time NASCAR modified champion; Ingram is a two-time champion of what is now the Nationwide Series; Inman is an eight-time Cup series championship crew chief; Lorenzen is a 26-race winner in the Cup series; and Robertson helped fuel NASCARís popularity as senior vice president of R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co.

The voting panel will pick five on Oct. 13. The date of the 2011 induction ceremony has not been set.

Following are the 25 nominees:

Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races.

Buck Baker, first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949.

Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCARís three national series.

Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified champion.

Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion.

Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

Rick Hendrick, 12-time car owner champion in NASCARís three national series.

Jack Ingram, two-time NASCAR Nationwide champion.

Dale Inman, eight-time NASCAR Sprint Cup championship crew chief.

Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

Fred Lorenzen, 26 victories and winner of the Daytona 500 and World 600.

Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner.

Raymond Parks, NASCARís first champion car owner.

Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion.

Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500.

T. Wayne Robertson, helped raise NASCAR popularity as R.J. Reynolds executive.

Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and í53.

Curtis Turner, early personality, called the ďBabe Ruth of stock car racingĒ.

Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships.

Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion.

Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothersí future team success.

Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78