That's Racin Magazine
NASCAR Hall of Fame

More on the inaugural class, slideshows
Thursday, Mar. 04, 2010

The NASCAR Hall of Fame's inaugural class, announced on Wednesday in Charlotte, includes Bill France, Bill France Jr., seven-time champions Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt, and Junior Johnson.

Linked here are slideshows and more that focus on those five, plus a slideshow that features all 25 of the nominees for the first year.

The building that will house the hall is owned by the city of Charlotte and operated by the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority.

The $195 million hall will feature a theater, NASCAR memorabilia and interactive exhibits. The city is paying for most of the building construction through a hotel/motel tax. The rest of the funding comes from bank loans backed by sponsorships and sales of commemorative bricks.

It is scheduled to open in May.