That's Racin Magazine
Top Stories

David Poole was to be on Hall of Fame committee

Wednesday, Apr. 29, 2009

Former Observer NASCAR writer David Poole received one more honor on Wednesday.

NASCAR has sent out invitations to 50 people to become members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominating Committee and Voting Panel and Poole, who has covered NASCAR for The Observer for the past 13 years, was among the media members invited to the Voting Panel.

Poole, 50, died Tuesday at home as a result of a heart attack.

Ramsey Poston, NASCAR’s managing director of corporate communications, coordinated many of the details for the Hall of Fame induction process and sought the advice of Poole.

“David was a sounding board for ideas on the induction process and of course provided his own ideas as well,” said Poston. “Just last Friday I contacted David to let him know that he had been selected to serve on the Voting Panel. He was honored.

“We’ll all miss his input on the future NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees.”

The hall’s inaugural class, consisting of five members, is scheduled to be enshrined in May 2010. That class will be selected by the Voting Panel from a list of 25 candidates assembled by a 21-person Nominating Committee.

The Voting Panel will consist of the members of the Nominating Committee and 29 others from throughout the NASCAR industry. There also will be one more ballot, decided by a nationwide fan vote, for a total of 51 Voting Panel ballots.

“We have assembled a truly distinguished group of people from the NASCAR industry, a group that understands and represents the history of the sport,” said NASCAR Chairman Brian France.

“The Nominating Committee and the Voting Panel, including the fan vote, will combine to make NASCAR history, by deciding the first NASCAR Hall of Fame inductees.”

The NASCAR Hall of Fame is a 130-000 square foot state-of-the-art hall of fame, entertainment attraction and museum under construction in Charlotte.


NASCAR Hall of Fame: Director Winston Kelley; Historian Buz McKim.

NASCAR Officials: Chairman/CEO Brian France; Vice Chairman Jim France; Senior Vice President Paul Brooks; President Mike Helton; Vice President of Competition Robin Pemberton; Vice President of Communications Jim Hunter; Competition Administrator Jerry Cook; former Vice President Ken Clapp.

Track Owners/Operators: International Speedway Corporation CEO Lesa Kennedy; Martinsville Speedway President Clay Campbell; Speedway Motorsports Incorporated CEO Bruton Smith; Atlanta Motor Speedway President Ed Clark; Indianapolis Motor Speedway owner Tony George; Dover Motorsports CEO Denis McGlynn; Pocono Raceway owner Doc Mattioli; Bowman Gray Stadium operator Dale Pinilis; Greenville-Pickens Speedway operator Tom Blackwell; Riverhead Raceway operators Jim and Barbara Cromarty (1 vote); Toyota Speedway at Irwindale operator Jim Williams.

The prospective 29 people slated to join the Nominating Committee members on the Voting Panel follow.


National Motorsports Press Association: Kenny Bruce, NASCAR Scene; Dustin Long, Landmark Newspapers/NMPA President; Mike Harris, Associated Press; Nate Ryan, USA Today; Jim Pedley,; Duane Cross,

Eastern Motorsports Press Association: Ernie Saxton, EMPA President.

American Auto Racing Writers & Broadcasters Association: Dusty Brandel, AARWBA President.

Broadcasters: Mike Joy, FOX; Bill Weber, TNT; Jerry Punch, ESPN; Barney Hall, MRN; Doug Rice, PRN; Rick Allen, SPEED.

Manufacturers: Chevrolet – Ed Peper, Vice President/General Manager North America; Ford – Edsel B. Ford II, Board of Directors; Dodge – Mike Accavitti, Director of Dodge Brand Global Marketing, Motorsports; Toyota – Lee White, President/General Manager, Toyota Racing Development USA.

Retired Drivers: Ricky Rudd; Harry Gant; Ned Jarrett. Retired Car Owners: Bud Moore; Cotton Owens; Junior Johnson.

Retired Crew Chiefs: Barry Dodson; Waddell Wilson; Buddy Parrott.

Industry leaders: Former Lowe’s Motor Speedway President Humpy Wheeler, former motorsports journalist Tom Higgins.